Please click on this link to save a copy of this document.
Archive or delete a class
This article is for teachers
When you’re done teaching a class, you can archive it. When a class is archived, it’s archived for all students and teachers in the class. If you don’t archive a class, students and teachers in the class continue to see it on their Classes page.
You can restore an archived class if you want to use it again, or delete it if you’ll never use it again. To delete a class, you need to archive it first.
Teachers and co-teachers can archive a class, but only the primary teacher can delete a class. Students can’t archive or delete a class.
What happens to an archived class?
When you archive a class
- It’s placed in a separate area to preserve the class materials, student work, and posts. You won’t see it with your active classes on the Classes page.
- You and your students can view an archived class. To use the class again, you have to restore it.
- You and your students can still access any class materials in Google Drive. That includes any attachments for assignments or other student work.
- Students can’t unenroll from an archived class. This can limit how students can manage the classes they’re done taking.
- The class calendar remains in your Google Calendar and in your students' calendars. If you no longer need the class, you can remove its calendar from view, or delete it permanently. For instructions, go to Delete or unsubscribe from a calendar.
Note: An archived class stays in Classroom until you delete it. That’s why an archived class’s calendar still shows in your Google Calendar.
Archive or restore a class
Computer AndroidiPhone & iPad
Archive a class
View an archived class
Restore an archived class
Delete a class
Warning: There's no way to undo deleting a class. If you click Delete, you no longer have access to any class posts or comments. However, you and your students can still access your class files in the class Drive folder.
When you decide you’ll never use a class again, you can delete it permanently. You have to archive a class before you can delete it. Only the primary teacher can delete a class. Co-teachers can’t delete a class.
Delete an archived class
- Go to classroom.google.com.
- At the top, click Menu .
- Scroll down and click Archived classes.
Note: If you haven’t archived any classes, this option won’t be in the menu.
- On the class card, click More Delete.
- Click Delete to confirm.